Bitcoin Node Setup Shopping Checklist 2026
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

This checklist is for anyone putting together a Bitcoin node setup and comparing the hardware pieces before buying. It covers the computer, storage, network, power protection, power accessories, and case listed for this build.

Prime Big Deal Days · Oct 6–7Offer from Amazon

Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free — and shop member deals

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

The sections follow those components one at a time. Each pick has a buying focus, practical checks to make, and a short verdict so you can compare its role in the setup.

Use the look-for points to check fit and compatibility against your own equipment and plans. Product names alone don’t confirm what cables, ports, or accessories are included, so verify those details in the product listing before ordering.

Single-board computer

The single-board computer is the core computing slot in this checklist. The Vemico Raspberry Pi 5 16GB Kit 64GB Edition is the named pick, with its product title specifying a Raspberry Pi 5, 16GB, and a 64GB edition. Check that the exact board and included kit components match the software and setup instructions you plan to follow.

A common buying mistake is treating the kit title as a complete compatibility guarantee. Confirm what is actually included, how the board is powered, and whether the storage or accessories in the kit suit your intended configuration. Also compare the precise model and memory details with any requirements you have established for your node software.

Before ordering, check the physical dimensions and connector access against the case you intend to use. This checklist also names a separate Raspberry Pi case pick, so make sure the two products are compatible rather than assuming they form a matched bundle. Review the listing for the included power supply and cables, and avoid paying for duplicate accessories you do not need.

What to look for:

  • Confirm the exact Raspberry Pi 5 model and 16GB specification
  • Check which components are included in the 64GB kit
  • Verify power supply and cable details
  • Compare board dimensions and connector access with your chosen case
  • Check software requirements against the exact board configuration

Vemico Raspberry Pi 5 16GB Kit 64GB Edition

Vemico Raspberry Pi 5 16GB Kit 64GB Edition
OUR VERDICT
A Clearly Specified Pi 5 Kit
VIEW LATEST PRICE

This Raspberry Pi 5 kit includes a 16GB board, 64GB storage card, active cooling, protective case, and power supply. It is ideal for servers, home automation, and multimedia applications, supporting 4K output and enhanced performance with a quad-core CPU and improved graphics.

Pros:

  • High-performance 16GB RAM and 64GB storage for demanding applications
  • Effective active cooling system maintains optimal temperature
  • Includes comprehensive accessories for easy setup and use
  • Supports 4K video output with dual HDMI ports

Cons:

  • Kit may be complex for beginners due to multiple components
  • Requires technical knowledge for assembly and configuration
  • Price range not specified

Best for: Shoppers seeking the listed Raspberry Pi 5 16GB kit

Not ideal for: Buyers who need a confirmed case-and-accessory bundle

Processor:
Broadcom BCM2712 2.4GHz quad-core 64-bit Arm Cortex-A76
Memory:
16GB RAM
Storage:
64GB microSD card
Graphics:
800MHz VideoCore VII GPU with dual 4Kp60 Micro HD output
Power Supply:
27W GaN 5.1V 5A
Cooling:
Active cooler with temperature sensor

Bottom line: Verify the included parts and case fit before choosing this as the node’s computing base.

External solid-state drive

External storage is a key slot to evaluate because your setup needs a place for its data. The named pick is the SanDisk 4TB Extreme Portable SSD; its title identifies it as an external portable SSD with a 4TB capacity. Check that this capacity and form factor fit your intended node configuration and any storage guidance you are following.

Do not assume the product name establishes compatibility with every computer, operating system, or connection method. Review the listing for the drive’s interface, included cable, and any setup requirements. A frequent mistake is overlooking the connection at the computer end: confirm that the drive and your board or other host can connect directly, or identify any required adapter.

Think through placement and cable reach before buying. A portable drive still needs a stable location and an accessible connection, especially if the computer will sit inside a case or near network equipment. Check whether your chosen case leaves room for the cable and connectors, and whether the drive’s own dimensions suit the spot you have in mind. Confirm the exact model in the listing so you do not confuse it with another capacity or product variant.

What to look for:

  • Confirm the exact 4TB Extreme Portable SSD model
  • Check the connection interface and host compatibility
  • Verify which cable is included and whether an adapter is needed
  • Consider drive placement, cable reach, and case clearance
  • Review setup requirements for your intended configuration

SanDisk 4TB Extreme Portable SSD

SanDisk 4TB Extreme Portable SSD
OUR VERDICT
Portable Storage With 4TB Listed
VIEW LATEST PRICE

The SanDisk 4TB Extreme Portable SSD offers fast transfer speeds up to 2000MB/s, making it ideal for high-res photos and videos. It features IP65 water and dust resistance, drop protection, and 256-bit AES encryption for security, all in a compact, pocket-sized design.

Pros:

  • High-speed data transfer up to 2000MB/s
  • Durable with water and drop resistance
  • Secure with AES encryption
  • Compact and portable design

Cons:

  • No mention of included accessories
  • Potentially expensive for some users

Best for: Builders looking for the specified external 4TB SSD

Not ideal for: Setups without a confirmed compatible connection

Capacity:
4TB
Transfer Speed:
up to 2000MB/s
Protection:
IP65 rated, up to 3m drop protection
Encryption:
256-bit AES

Bottom line: Check the interface, included cable, and placement before adding this drive to your build.

Ethernet network switch

The switch is the wired network slot in this checklist. The selected model is the NETGEAR MS510TXM 10-Port 10G Multi-Gigabit Smart Managed Switch. Its title names ten ports and describes 10G multi-gigabit and smart managed features; verify the actual port types and capabilities in the product listing against the devices you plan to connect.

A common mistake is choosing a switch by its headline specification without checking every link in the network. Confirm that the node, router, and other equipment have compatible ports, and identify which cables are needed. The fastest capability in a switch title does not by itself tell you the speed of each connected device or the performance of your internet service.

Also consider whether you want a managed switch and are prepared to configure its features. Check the product documentation and listing for setup details, physical dimensions, and mounting or placement needs. Count the devices that will use the switch now, then leave room for the connections you expect to add. Verify that the unit can sit where your Ethernet runs reach it, with access to power and adequate space for its connectors.

What to look for:

  • Confirm the port types and capabilities for the exact model
  • Match switch ports to the node, router, and other devices
  • Check which Ethernet cables are needed
  • Decide whether managed features suit your setup
  • Count connections and verify placement, mounting, and power access

NETGEAR MS510TXM 10-Port 10G Multi-Gigabit Smart Managed Switch

NETGEAR MS510TXM 10-Port 10G Multi-Gigabit Smart Managed Switch
OUR VERDICT
A Feature-Rich Wired Network Pick
VIEW LATEST PRICE

The NETGEAR MS510TXM is a smart managed switch with eight Multi-Gigabit Ethernet ports and two 10G SFP+ fiber ports. It supports multiple connection speeds, remote management through NETGEAR Insight for one year, and desktop or rack mounting; its fanless design provides silent operation.

Pros:

  • Supports connection speeds up to 10 Gbps
  • Auto-negotiating ports work with existing Cat5e or Cat6 cables
  • Fanless design operates silently
  • Supports desktop and rack mounting

Cons:

  • Only eight ports are RJ-45 Ethernet ports
  • Remote management subscription is included for one year

Best for: Setups that need a multi-port managed switch

Not ideal for: Buyers who have not checked device port compatibility

Number of ports:
10
Ethernet ports:
4 x 1G/2.5G RJ-45; 4 x 1G/2.5G/5G/10G RJ-45
Fiber ports:
2 x 1G/10G SFP+
Switch type:
Smart managed
Management:
NETGEAR Insight for 1 year; SNMP (NMS 300)
Mounting:
Desktop or rack mount

Bottom line: Map your wired devices and confirm their port needs before selecting this switch.

Uninterruptible power supply

The UPS occupies the power protection slot in the checklist. The pick is the CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U PFC Sinewave UPS Battery Backup. Its name identifies a UPS battery backup and specifies PFC sinewave; consult the listing and documentation for the unit’s connections, dimensions, and supported load before planning around it.

A buying mistake is assuming the model name alone establishes how long it will run your equipment or which devices it can support. List the devices you expect to connect, check their power requirements, and compare the combined load with the UPS documentation. Confirm that the outlets and plug arrangements fit your computer, network equipment, and any other intended connections.

Check the physical fit as carefully as the electrical details. The model name includes “2U,” but confirm the unit’s actual dimensions and installation requirements in the listing, then compare them with your rack or intended placement. Review battery and maintenance information, and make sure the power cord can reach the outlet without straining. If the rest of your setup uses separate adapters, confirm how those will connect without blocking neighboring outlets.

What to look for:

  • Check the UPS’s supported load against connected equipment
  • Verify outlet types, quantity, and plug clearance
  • Confirm dimensions and installation requirements
  • Review battery and maintenance information
  • Check outlet location and power-cord reach

CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U PFC Sinewave UPS Battery Backup

CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U PFC Sinewave UPS Battery Backup
OUR VERDICT
A Named Sinewave UPS Option
VIEW LATEST PRICE

The CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U is a 1500VA/1000W sine wave UPS designed to provide battery backup and surge protection for security systems, audio/visual equipment, and networking devices. It features eight NEMA 5-15R outlets, a multifunction color LCD panel, automatic voltage regulation, and a compact rackmount design.

Pros:

  • Provides reliable sine wave power output suitable for active PFC power supplies
  • Includes a multifunction color LCD panel for real-time status updates
  • Compact rackmount design fits in limited space

Cons:

  • Battery replacement may be needed after warranty period
  • Limited to short-depth rack installations
  • No mention of additional features like network management or remote monitoring

Best for: Builders planning a dedicated UPS battery backup

Not ideal for: Setups with unverified load or installation needs

Capacity:
1500VA/1000W
Output Waveform:
Sine wave
Outlets:
8 NEMA 5-15R
Input Plug:
NEMA 5-15P right angle, 45 degree offset
Cord Length:
6 feet
Depth:
10.5 inches

Bottom line: Compare your equipment’s power needs and the UPS connections before purchase.

USB-C power supply

This slot is for the USB-C power and accessory pick: USB-C Docking Station Dual Monitor with Power Adapter, 12-in-1 Thunder. The product name describes a docking station, dual-monitor capability, a power adapter, and a 12-in-1 designation. Those labels are a starting point; inspect the listing to learn which ports and functions the particular model includes.

A common mistake is treating a docking station as a universal power supply for every device. Check its power output and connector against the board or equipment you intend to use, and verify that the device supports the docking station’s connection standard. Do not infer monitor compatibility from “dual monitor” alone: confirm supported display connections and resolution details for your host and screens.

Consider whether this accessory belongs in the node build at all. Map the actual connections you need, then compare them with the dock’s listed ports, included adapter, and cables. Check the cable length and placement so it can reach both the host and any displays without awkward routing. The title ends with “Thunder,” so verify the exact model name and interface in the listing rather than assuming a specific Thunderbolt version or capability.

What to look for:

  • Verify the exact dock model and its interface
  • Match power output and connector to the intended device
  • Confirm monitor connections and supported display details
  • Check the listed ports, adapter, and included cables
  • Assess whether the dock’s features are needed in the node setup

USB-C Docking Station Dual Monitor with Power Adapter, 12-in-1 Thunderbolt 3 Doc

USB-C Docking Station Dual Monitor with Power Adapter, 12-in-1 Thunderbolt 3 Doc
OUR VERDICT
A Docking Station With Power Adapter
VIEW LATEST PRICE

This USB-C docking station supports dual 4K displays and offers 12 ports including HDMI, USB, Ethernet, and SD card slots. It provides high-speed data transfer and power delivery, compatible with various laptops and devices without needing drivers.

Pros:

  • Supports dual 4K displays for enhanced productivity
  • Multiple ports including HDMI, USB, Ethernet, and SD card slots
  • High power delivery with 96W adapter and fast data transfer rates

Cons:

  • MacOS does not support triple extended displays
  • Requires USB-C or Thunderbolt 3/4 port for optimal use

Best for: Setups that need the dock’s verified ports and display connections

Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a simple supply without dock features

Display Support:
Dual 4K@30Hz or single 4K@60Hz
Power Delivery:
96W PD adapter, 18W PD output port
Ports:
2 HDMI, 4 USB (2×3.0, 2×2.0), Ethernet, SD/TF card slots, Audio, Power-In
Data Transfer Rate:
Up to 5Gbps
Compatibility:
Windows, Mac OS, Chrome OS, iPad OS, Android, Linux, Unix

Bottom line: Confirm the host, power, and display compatibility before treating this as a power accessory.

Raspberry Pi case

The case is the enclosure slot for the Raspberry Pi in this checklist. The named product is Raspberry Pi 5 Essentials Starter Kit PRO (128GB Edition) (8GB RAM) wi. The supplied name appears to end mid-word, so verify the complete product title and exact contents before ordering; the title also lists 8GB RAM and a 128GB edition.

Do not assume from “case” or “starter kit” that the bundle includes a specific enclosure, cooling parts, power supply, or cables. Review the listing’s contents and images, then compare its supported board model with the computer you chose. This matters here because the other pick specifies a Raspberry Pi 5 16GB kit, while this product title names 8GB RAM; confirm which board, if any, is included and whether the case fits your intended board.

Check access to ports and space for the external SSD cable and other connections. If the case has cooling or assembly requirements, verify those details in the product documentation. Also compare the case footprint with your planned placement and ensure that the setup can be opened for maintenance. Confirm whether “128GB Edition” refers to included storage and whether it meets your intended configuration before relying on it as part of the node build.

What to look for:

  • Confirm the full product title and bundle contents
  • Verify case compatibility with the intended Raspberry Pi 5 model
  • Resolve the listed 8GB RAM versus the separate 16GB computer pick
  • Check port access, cable clearance, and any cooling requirements
  • Confirm what “128GB Edition” includes and whether it suits your plan

Raspberry Pi 5 Essentials Starter Kit PRO (128GB Edition) (8GB RAM) with Micro S

Raspberry Pi 5 Essentials Starter Kit PRO (128GB Edition) (8GB RAM) with Micro S
OUR VERDICT
Verify the Incomplete Kit Listing
VIEW LATEST PRICE

This comprehensive Raspberry Pi 5 starter kit includes the latest Raspberry Pi 5 board, a preloaded 128GB microSD card with Raspberry Pi OS, an official active cooling case, and a 27W USB-C power supply. Designed for easy setup, it is ideal for AI projects, home automation, media servers, and development tasks, providing reliable performance and support.

Pros:

  • Complete kit with all essential components included
  • Preloaded microSD card allows immediate use
  • Official cooling case ensures stable performance during demanding tasks
  • Reliable power supply designed for Raspberry Pi 5

Cons:

  • Limited to Raspberry Pi 5 ecosystem
  • May be overkill for simple projects
  • Price not specified

Best for: Shoppers who can confirm the complete model and contents

Not ideal for: Anyone needing a clearly specified case match

Processor:
Raspberry Pi 5
Memory:
8GB RAM
Storage:
128GB microSD card
Power Supply:
27W USB-C
Cooling:
Active cooling case
Preloaded OS:
Raspberry Pi OS

Bottom line: Resolve the truncated name and board compatibility before buying this listing.

Build in a compatibility-first order: confirm the computer and case match, then choose storage and verify its connection, followed by network and power equipment sized for your actual devices. Treat the docking station as optional until you confirm that its ports or display features solve a need in your setup.

Take the list one connection at a time, checking exact model names, included accessories, and fit before you place an order. With those details in hand, you can assemble a more coherent checklist and make decisions at a pace that works for you.

Nothing in this article is financial or investment advice. Cryptocurrency and precious-metal investments carry significant risk — do your own research and consider a licensed advisor.
FALL

Fall Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

7 Best Smart Jump Ropes to Elevate Your Workout Game in 2026

Discover the top smart jump ropes of 2026. Find the best overall, budget-friendly, and beginner options to enhance your fitness routine today.

The 5 Best Rechargeable Hand Warmers of 2026 — Reviewed and Rated

Discover the top rechargeable hand warmers of 2026. Our review covers long-lasting, portable options, and key features to keep your hands warm outdoors.

10 Best Travel Gifts for Frequent Flyers That Will Make Their Journeys Easier

Discover the top travel gifts for frequent flyers in 2026. Find the best pillows, blankets, accessories, and more to make travel more comfortable and enjoyable.

8 Best Bitcoin-Themed Soccer Fan Apparel in 2026

Explore the top Bitcoin-themed soccer fan apparel for 2026. Find the best options for style, value, and beginner-friendly choices in this curated guide.