🔍 Read the full analysis: Why The AI Flat Rate Is Under Debate: Grok Costs And OpenAI’s Tightened Rules on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that Grok Bot’s serving costs were unsustainably high relative to revenue, without giving figures or announcing a specific policy change. In the same week, OpenAI tightened paid-account sharing rules and said some plans will use one shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance from December. The developments point to more metering around AI subscriptions, not a confirmed end to flat monthly prices.
Elon Musk said Nov. 1 that serving xAI’s Grok Bot had become “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while OpenAI introduced new limits on how paid accounts can be shared and said some subscribers will draw from a single ChatGPT and Codex allowance starting in December. Neither company announced that its monthly subscription model is ending, but the changes show providers putting tighter boundaries around usage and costs.
Musk made the comment in response to an X user asking for a Grok Bot reset after users reported that their usage had run out quickly that week. His reply gave no cost, revenue or margin figures and did not specify whether xAI had changed limits, planned a reset or would adjust prices. The remark concerned Grok Bot, xAI’s task-performing agent, not Grok chat generally.
According to xAI’s pricing and product information cited by ThorstenMeyerAI.com, Grok Bot is included in certain paid X subscription tiers and uses a shared weekly usage pool that also covers Grok chat and models in the Cursor coding tool. xAI says usage depends on agent steps, tokens and the effort required by a task, rather than simply the number of messages. That means two subscribers paying the same monthly fee may consume their allowance at different rates.
OpenAI’s help center says it limits how many paid ChatGPT accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased using one payment card or device. The rules cover Go, Plus and Pro plans; OpenAI does not publish a numerical threshold in the cited guidance. The company also says Plus, Pro and Business subscribers will share one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December. Unlimited Instant chats are described as remaining outside that allowance.
Infographic 01 · One week, four moves
More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked
In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset
OpenAI gives more on top plans
Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.
Limits per card and per device
ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.
One meter from December
Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.
Musk: Grok Bot cost too much
One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.
Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.
Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
Subscription Prices Meet Usage Meters
These developments matter because a monthly subscription price can conceal substantial differences in the amount of computing a customer uses. A short chat response and an agent that researches or codes for an extended period do not necessarily impose comparable costs. When providers sell both under a flat fee, heavy usage can put pressure on margins or lead companies to impose allowances, queues or other controls.
OpenAI’s published rate card, as described by ThorstenMeyerAI.com, assigns its most capable model about 100 times the allowance use per output token of its cheapest model. That comparison is about token consumption under the cited rate card, not a claim that every task costs 100 times more overall. For businesses, the shift may mean evaluating AI subscriptions more like cloud services: a seat fee combined with usage limits or metered charges. For individual customers, the practical issue is whether their typical workload fits within the allowance attached to a plan.
The evidence does not establish that flat-rate AI plans are ending. It does show providers seeking to define what a flat fee includes, especially when agents and coding tools can run longer than ordinary chat interactions. The distinction matters to customers comparing plans: the monthly price alone may not describe how much work they can reliably complete.
Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Logitech MX Mechanical Full-Size Wireless Mechanical Keyboard, Tactile Quiet Switches, Backlit Keys, Bluetooth, USB-C, Multi-Device, Graphit

Apple MacBook Air 15-inch (2026) with M5 chip, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD, Silver
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
A Week of Changes at OpenAI
The developments come against a history of providers balancing simple subscription pricing with unpredictable use. OpenAI launched a $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan in December 2024 with “unlimited access” to its best models. The following month, CEO Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because users were using the service more than expected. That earlier comment is relevant background, but it does not establish the current profitability of any OpenAI plan.
OpenAI made several changes in the week before Nov. 1. On Oct. 29, product lead Thibault Sottiaux wrote that usage limits were being doubled for Pro tiers and Business Premium. OpenAI’s release notes described a narrower set of details: Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their prior Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction for Pro 200 was cancelled. The distinction between the social post and the release notes is important when describing exactly which limits changed.
The sharing rules and the planned shared allowance add controls in a different direction from those increases. They do not, on the information provided, amount to a general reduction in every customer’s usage. Instead, OpenAI is adjusting some plan allowances while also defining account-sharing boundaries and combining usage across products.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”
— Elon Musk, replying on X on Nov. 1
No Figures or New Grok Limits
Musk did not disclose Grok Bot’s costs, revenue or profitability, and his post did not say whether xAI had already changed the weekly pool. Although some coverage interpreted his use of the past tense as evidence that a cost adjustment had taken place, that is an interpretation, not an explicit announcement. A request for a reset and reports that users ran out of usage do not independently confirm a policy change.
ThorstenMeyerAI.com also referred to reports of a post from Grok’s official account about adjusted allocations and a separate dashboard issue. The article said it could not locate that post itself, so those details remain reported rather than independently confirmed here. The precise device and card thresholds in OpenAI’s sharing rules are also not public in the cited help guidance. It is not clear how the new shared allowance will operate for different patterns of ChatGPT and Codex use once it begins.
December Allowance Rollout
OpenAI says its shared allowance for ChatGPT and Codex on Plus, Pro and Business plans will begin in December 2026. Customers will be able to judge the practical effect once the allowance is active and the company’s usage information shows how the two products draw from it. OpenAI has not published a specific sharing threshold in the cited help page.
For xAI, the next confirmation would need to come from an explicit update to Grok Bot’s usage rules, pricing or weekly pool. Musk’s post alone does not establish that a reset or plan change is coming. Customers comparing AI plans should check the providers’ current limits and usage pages; allowances can change, and agent workloads can consume capacity differently from ordinary chats.
Key Questions
Did Elon Musk announce a Grok Bot limit cut?
No specific cut was announced. Musk said serving Grok Bot was unsustainably expensive relative to revenue, but gave no details about a change to its weekly usage pool, a reset or a price adjustment.
What is OpenAI changing for ChatGPT and Codex?
OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business plans will use one shared token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex starting in December 2026. Unlimited Instant chats are described as staying outside that meter.
Is OpenAI ending flat-rate subscriptions?
The reported changes do not show that OpenAI is ending monthly subscriptions. They indicate that some paid plans will have more explicit usage controls, including a shared allowance for ChatGPT and Codex.
Why can an AI agent use more than a chat conversation?
According to xAI’s documentation, Grok Bot usage depends on agent steps, tokens and task effort, not just the number of messages. A task that runs through research or other work can consume more capacity than a brief reply.
What is still unknown about Grok Bot’s costs?
xAI has not provided figures for Grok Bot’s costs, revenue or margins in the cited statement. It is also unclear whether xAI changed usage allocations before Musk’s post or plans a further change.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
