What The ChatGPT Pro Limit Update Means For AI Users
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: What The ChatGPT Pro Limit Update Means For AI Users on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and doubled the Work and Codex allowance on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. The allowances are shared between Work and Codex; this does not mean every ChatGPT limit doubled. Prices remain unchanged, and existing subscribers receive the updated allowances automatically.

OpenAI canceled a planned usage reduction for its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and doubled the shared Work and Codex allowance on its $100 and $500 Pro plans, according to release notes dated October 29. The changes took effect immediately, at the same prices, but do not double every ChatGPT limit: several chat limits and the $20 Plus plan’s allowance remain unchanged.

OpenAI’s ChatGPT release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. Work is intended for longer tasks such as research and documents, while Codex is the company’s coding agent. OpenAI’s pricing information says they draw from the same usage pool, so the higher allowance is shared rather than provided separately for each product.

The company also canceled the reduction to Pro 200 that it had announced in September. Its updated help page says only subscribers who had been on the lower allowance received a doubling; subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it. That means Pro 200 users were brought to the higher allowance, not that everyone on the plan received twice what they had immediately before the change.

OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the update automatically, without waiting for a renewal, and new subscriptions include it. Prices are unchanged. The help page also says Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged, while Pro 200’s lower weekly limit now matches its higher one. Ultrafast mode remains exclusive to Pro 500, and Plus usage is unchanged.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; the changes…
The developmentOpenAI reversed a planned ChatGPT Pro 200 usage cut and increased Work and Codex allowances for Pro 100 and Pro 500 subscribers.
Crypto market snapshot
Fear & Greed Index
30/100 — Fear
Bitcoin BTC$78,248▼ 2.0%
Ethereum ETH$2,239▼ 2.9%
Tether USDT$0.9989▼ 0.0%
BNB BNB$708.37▼ 5.5%
XRP XRP$1.25▼ 3.0%
USDC USDC$0.9995▲ 0.0%
Solana SOL$97.61▼ 2.1%
TRON TRX$0.332▲ 0.3%
Live data · CoinGecko · alternative.me (24h change)
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

How the Changes Affect Pro Users

The adjustment changes how much work some subscribers can run through OpenAI’s Work and Codex tools before reaching their shared allowance. That may matter to people using the products for extended research, document work or coding, but an allowance increase does not translate into a fixed increase in completed tasks. OpenAI says usage varies according to the model, task and speed mode.

For people choosing between plans, the distinction between a shared usage pool and other product limits matters. A higher Work and Codex allowance does not by itself mean more weekly GPT-6 Pro messages on Pro 100 or Pro 500, access to Ultrafast mode, or a change to Plus. Readers should compare the specific limits relevant to their work rather than treating “doubled limits” as a broad increase across ChatGPT.

The update also affects businesses buying Premium seats. OpenAI’s release note confirms that Business Premium usage is increasing, but does not specify the size of the increase. A post by OpenAI product executive Thibault Sottiaux described the change as a doubling. Because the official note does not give a multiplier, companies should distinguish that post from the more limited detail in the release note when budgeting usage.

Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Logitech MX Mechanical Full-Size Wireless Mechanical Keyboard, Tactile Quiet Switches, Backlit Keys, Bluetooth, USB-C, Multi-Device, Graphit

Logitech MX Mechanical Full-Size Wireless Mechanical Keyboard, Tactile Quiet Switches, Backlit Keys, Bluetooth, USB-C, Multi-Device, Graphit

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

September’s Planned Pro 200 Cut

The change reverses a plan announced in September. On September 29, OpenAI said the Pro 200 allowance would be reduced from its existing higher level, while keeping the monthly price at $200. The planned reduction was due to take effect October 30. OpenAI later canceled it on October 29, one day before that date.

Earlier in September, OpenAI had paused new sign-ups for Pro 200. TechCrunch reported that Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model. OpenAI then reopened the $200 plan and introduced a $500 Pro tier. At the time, Sottiaux described the plan ladder using a Plus-to-Pro usage scale; the October update revised the allowances for some tiers and restored the higher allowance for affected Pro 200 subscribers.

In a post on X, Sottiaux wrote, “We heard your kind feedback” and said the changes applied to Pro tiers and Business Premium. OpenAI’s release notes and help page provide more specific information about which allowances changed. Where the broad wording in the post differs from those plan details, the help page specifies that Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits did not change.

““We heard your kind feedback.””

— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X

Business Premium Increase Unspecified

OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but gives no numerical amount. Sottiaux described the increase as a doubling, but the published help and release-note details cited here do not state a multiplier for those seats. The exact allowance and how it applies to different Business Premium customers are therefore not established by the official note.

OpenAI’s announcement also does not specify changes for Business Standard, Go or Free plans. The available information says Plus usage is unchanged, but readers should not infer that plans not mentioned in the announcement received the same adjustment. The company’s usage figures can also vary by model, task and speed mode, so the additional allowance cannot be translated into a guaranteed number of tasks.

Check Plan Details and Usage

Subscribers can review their plan and current usage in their ChatGPT account. OpenAI says the new allowance applies automatically to existing subscribers, so no plan change or renewal is required to receive it. Users considering an upgrade can compare the updated plan details against their own Work, Codex and chat needs.

Businesses assessing seat costs should check the terms shown for their specific Business Premium plan and keep subscription usage separate from any API budget: the announced change concerns ChatGPT plan allowances. Further detail from OpenAI would be needed to establish the precise Business Premium increase. Until then, the confirmed scope is the Pro Work and Codex changes, the canceled Pro 200 cut, and the plan-specific limits listed in OpenAI’s help page.

Key Questions

Which ChatGPT Pro plans received twice the Work and Codex allowance?

OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance. The increase applies to that pool, not every ChatGPT limit.

Did every Pro 200 subscriber get twice as much usage?

Not necessarily. OpenAI says subscribers on the lower Pro 200 allowance had it doubled to match the higher allowance. People already on the higher allowance kept it.

Did prices or all chat limits change?

Prices did not change. OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged. Pro 200’s lower weekly limit now matches its higher one, while Plus usage is unchanged.

Do existing subscribers need to take action?

No. OpenAI says the updated allowances apply to existing subscribers automatically and before renewal.

How much did Business Premium usage increase?

OpenAI’s release note confirms an increase but gives no numerical amount. Thibault Sottiaux described it as a doubling in a post, but the official note does not specify a multiplier.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Nothing in this article is financial or investment advice. Cryptocurrency and precious-metal investments carry significant risk — do your own research and consider a licensed advisor.
You May Also Like

Preparing For 2026: 10 AI Trends That Will Lead The Way

An analysis of the key AI trends expected to shape the industry by 2026, based on expert insights and current technological developments.

The Cutting Edge Of Speech Monitoring: Apple’s SpeechAnalyzer API Insights

Apple’s SpeechAnalyzer API is being tested against Whisper, signaling a potential shift in speech recognition tools for product teams. Here’s what is known.

Get AI Agents To Bring You Choices, Not A Running Log

A new Anthropic workplace study points to human attention as a bottleneck for AI agents. Four practices can help limit review and update overload.

The Twelve Real Complaints About AI Tools in 2026 — A Reddit, Twitter, and GitHub Synthesis

A detailed report on the top twelve complaints from users across Reddit, Twitter, and GitHub about AI tools in 2026, highlighting real-world issues and implications.