Britain Pays More Than The US To Check AI Before Launch
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: Britain Pays More Than The US To Check AI Before Launch on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

The UK Budget confirmed an additional £120 million for its AI Security Institute over four financial years, on top of £66 million in annual funding listed by the institute. That puts the UK’s stated annual resources at about £96 million on average, compared with roughly $15 million for the US testing center, though the comparison depends on exchange rates and which US funding figure is used.

The UK Budget has confirmed £120 million in extra funding for the AI Security Institute over four financial years, expanding government testing of powerful AI systems before release. The institute lists £66 million in existing annual funding; averaged across the four-year top-up, the new money adds about £30 million a year, though the Budget does not specify its yearly distribution.

The Treasury first previewed the funding on October 24, then the October 28 Budget set out its period: £120 million “over 2026-27 to 2029-30” to strengthen the UK’s frontier AI evaluation and testing capacity. The average annual addition is about £30 million, based on dividing the total by four. Combined with the institute’s stated £66 million per financial year, that implies about £96 million a year on average, before accounting for timing or other funding arrangements.

The funding is part of a larger £700 million AI security package, according to the Treasury figures in the source material. It also includes £165 million for a National AI Biosecurity Initiative and £40 million for a National Agentic Security Unit, described as a body intended to detect, investigate and respond to rogue agentic systems. The AI Security Institute, established in 2023 and part of the Department for Science, Innovation and Technology, says it has more than 100 technical staff and priority access to more than £1.5 billion in public computing resources.

The US comparison is not a direct like-for-like budget measure. The US National Institute of Standards and Technology’s testing center is reported to have about $15 million for fiscal 2026. The White House requested $27 million for fiscal 2027, while a House appropriations committee report offers up to $15 million. Those are different stages and amounts: the request and committee figure are not confirmed enacted funding. Using the current reported UK and US figures, the source estimates an annualized UK budget of about $128 million, or roughly eight to nine times $15 million. Against the White House’s $27 million request, it is under five times.

At a glance
reportWhen: Confirmed in the UK Budget on October 2…
The developmentThe UK Budget confirmed £120 million in additional funding for the AI Security Institute’s frontier-model testing and evaluation work from 2026-27 to 2029-30.
Thorsten Meyer AI
Per year

Infographic 01 · The money, made comparable

Britain spends about 8 to 9 times more per year. Not “10 times” from the top-up alone.

The new £120 million for the UK AI Security Institute covers four financial years. Put both countries on a per-year basis and the gap is still large, just smaller than the headline.

~8.5×UK vs US per year today (~$128m vs ~$15m)
<5×if Congress grants the $27m request
3–4×the new UK top-up alone, per year
4 yearsthe £120m covers: 2026-27 to 2029-30

Testing budget per year

Million US dollars · UK at about $1.33 per pound, the rate Semafor used

  • UK AISI, existing£66m per financial year~$88m
  • UK AISI, new top-up£120m over 4 years = ~£30m a year~$40m
  • UK AISI, total per year~£96m~$128m
  • US CAISSI, fiscal 2026$10m appropriated + $10m loan over 2 years~$15m
  • US CAISSI, request for fiscal 2027White House budget request$27m
  • US, Trahan–Obernolte proposalnot law · through 2029$100m
UKUSProposal, not law

Why “10 times” needs a footnote

  • Semafor: the £120m (~$160m) top-up “alone is more than 10 times” the US center’s annual budget
  • But: the £120m is spread over four financial years, the US figure is one year
  • Per year: the top-up is about $40m, roughly 3 to 4 times the US budget
  • With AISI’s existing money: about 8 to 9 times
  • Not counted: free compute and model access from companies, and testing by other agencies such as the NSA or the UK’s NCSC

Institute for Progress estimates: a “limited” US center needs $26m a year, an “equipped” one $84m. Matching the UK’s share of total government spending would mean about $850m a year.

Sources: HM Treasury, Budget 2026, 28 Oct 2026; AISI About page, accessed 29 Oct 2026; Institute for Progress, 13 May 2026; Semafor, 27 Oct 2026; House CJS report FY2027 (up to $15m). Per-year averages, ratios and dollar conversions are my arithmetic.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

More Capacity, Not a Safety Guarantee

The funding matters because government evaluators can probe systems for hazards that may not show up in ordinary product testing, including cyber, biological and chemical risks. The UK institute’s work can inform public understanding of what frontier models can do and give developers evidence to improve safeguards. A larger budget may support more staff, compute, evaluations or technical standards, but the Budget announcement does not break down how the extra money will be used.

For companies developing or deploying AI, the announcement points to greater UK testing capacity and a continuing need to track rules and expectations in each market. The source says both UK and US evaluations are voluntary, so the funding does not by itself create a requirement for every developer to submit systems for testing. Public evaluation reports can offer useful lessons for organisations testing their own AI agents, but they are not a substitute for risk controls appropriate to a particular deployment.

For users, a government evaluation should not be read as a general seal of approval. Testing examines particular models, versions, conditions and risks; a result in one setting does not establish that a system is safe in every use. AI systems can behave differently as they are updated or connected to tools, and the source material describes testing designed to find problematic behavior rather than certify that none exists.

Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the UK-US Figures Compare

The headline comparison that Britain’s top-up alone exceeds the US center’s annual budget by more than ten times mixes a four-year UK allocation with a one-year US figure. The source’s calculation spreads the £120 million evenly across four years, giving an average of £30 million annually. Added to the institute’s stated £66 million annual funding, that yields about £96 million a year. The Budget does not say whether the new funding will actually be paid evenly.

The US center has appeared under more than one name. The source identifies it as the Center for AI Standards and Innovation and says the NIST page now uses the name Center for Advancing Innovation and Standards for Super Intelligence. NIST describes its role as serving as a government contact point for industry testing, using voluntary agreements with developers and focusing on demonstrable risks. The Institute for Progress is the cited source for the roughly $15 million fiscal 2026 estimate. The figures should be treated as reported budget information, not as an audited comparison of each office’s total resources or output.

The source also reports that the European Union’s AI Office has more than 125 staff and, from August 2, 2026, has authority to evaluate large models and impose fines of up to 3% of global turnover. That is a different model from the voluntary UK and US testing described here, and it provides a relevant regulatory comparison without making the funding figures directly equivalent.

Funding Details Still Unsettled

The Budget confirms the £120 million total and four-year period, but does not specify how much will be allocated in each year, which projects will receive it, or how much will go to staffing, computing and individual evaluations. The £96 million annual UK estimate assumes an even distribution of the new money and adds it to the institute’s stated £66 million annual funding; it is an arithmetic estimate, not a published yearly budget.

The US figures also remain subject to budget decisions. The $27 million figure is a White House request, and the House committee’s “up to $15 million” is a committee proposal rather than proof of final appropriations. The source reports that the center had no permanent director after Chris Fall resigned in July, and that NIST had not published its headcount. Those factors make it difficult to compare operational capacity using budget totals alone.

The source describes UK and US model testing as voluntary. It also reports that Anthropic released Mythos 5.1 in September without giving any organisation outside the US access. The reasons for that access decision, and whether the UK institute evaluated that version, are not established by the material provided.

How the New Funding Is Used

The next clear milestone is the funding period beginning in 2026-27. The Budget sets the overall amount and end date, but more detail would be needed to show when funds reach the institute and which testing programmes they support. The institute’s future publications and evaluation work may indicate how its capacity develops; the announcement itself does not list specific new tests or staffing targets.

In the United States, Congress must resolve the fiscal 2027 funding question. The White House request, House committee figure and proposed bipartisan bill cited in the source are not equivalent: the proposed $100 million a year through 2029 would require legislative approval. Final appropriations and any leadership appointment would provide a clearer picture of the center’s resources.

Until those details emerge, the sound comparison is to keep time periods and status explicit: the UK has confirmed a four-year top-up, while the US figures include current reported funding and competing proposals. Neither budget total alone shows how many models will be tested, how quickly evaluations will be completed or whether developers will act on the findings.

Key Questions

How much additional funding did the UK announce for AI testing?

The Budget confirmed £120 million for the AI Security Institute over four financial years, from 2026-27 to 2029-30.

Does the UK spend more than ten times as much as the US?

That comparison uses the UK’s four-year top-up against one year of US funding. Averaged annually and added to the institute’s existing £66 million, the UK figure is about £96 million a year, estimated in the source as roughly eight to nine times the US center’s reported $15 million fiscal 2026 budget. The ratio is lower when compared with the White House’s $27 million fiscal 2027 request.

Are AI companies required to submit models for these tests?

The source describes testing in both the UK and US as voluntary. The Budget announcement does not establish a general requirement for developers to submit models to the UK institute.

Does a government test mean an AI model is safe?

No. A test examines a model under particular conditions and for specific risks. It is not a guarantee that the system is safe for every user, task or later version.

What remains unknown about the new UK funding?

The Budget does not specify the annual payment schedule or explain exactly how the institute will divide the money among staff, computing and evaluation work. The stated £96 million annual total is an average estimate, not a published annual allocation.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Nothing in this article is financial or investment advice. Cryptocurrency and precious-metal investments carry significant risk — do your own research and consider a licensed advisor.
You May Also Like

4 Best Content Creator Laptops For AI Editing And Production

A source-based comparison of four Windows laptops for creative work, including RAM, graphics, screen limits and which workloads each may suit.

Upgrade To AI-Enhanced Soundbars For Superior TV Audio In 2026

In 2026, new AI-enhanced soundbars promise superior TV sound with advanced processing, immersive effects, and better integration. Here’s what is confirmed and what remains uncertain.

Nadcab Labs Sets the Bar Higher in Blockchain Innovation With Smart Contracts

Optimize your understanding of blockchain innovation with Nadcab Labs’ groundbreaking smart contracts—discover the future of secure digital transactions.

Apple Allows DApps and NFTs in App Store Under New Policy

Discover how Apple’s new policy enables DApps and NFTs in the App Store, reshaping blockchain integration—find out what this means for developers and users alike.